you're reading...
Community, Long Term, Pal Friendly, Proficiency Level Five, Proficiency Level Four, Proficiency Level One, Proficiency Level Three, Proficiency Level Two, Socially Marginalized Groups, Women, Youth

Long Term Opportunity at Women & Children Center – Harmony Home Association (Taipei Area)

Updated 1/28/2012 Photos & Proficiency Level. Headed over there today for a few hours, it was chockfull of rambunctious kids! If you head over on the weekdays, children 0-2 are at the center all day; 3+ in school until around 4-5pm. Weekends everyone is there and you will also meet a ton of other great volunteers, watch out for this space as one of the cutest girl in Taiwan is going to be starting art classes for the tots and you can join in and help out!

I have also altered the proficiency level to 1, just be ready with a smile and arms of steels to hold the kids.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Please note that out of respect for the privacy of the women and children, please do NOT take identifiable pictures for public use without their permission. I took a few last week and sent them for the center’s use, if I am permitted will update. All images here with visible faces are from the HHAT website, the rest are my own.

****I called about volunteering at Harmony Home Association last week and was immediately offered a chance to head to the center the next day for their year end party. HHAT is a non-profit organization committed to helping people living with and affected by HIV/AIDS.

It was a pleasant surprise as the kids and everyone were extremely warm – this is a loving non-profit organization that welcomes you with open arms and I hope you can also return the same favor to them!

But really, there is no better way to actually see the faces than to visit the center yourself, right? Call and head over!

TASKS: There is always an opportunity for you to go play with the kids, just email or call them beforehand. There are plenty of toys there; you can read to them, play ball, throw stuffed toys, feeding, etc. After you’ve gone a few times I’m sure you can pitch your own ideas, whether it is to teach an art class for the kids or anything else. Would love it if you’d let me know and we can put together a larger scale project involving more people (update we are planning on Mondays!)

If there are special events requiring volunteers, I will be sure to post these individually.

LANGUAGE PROFICIENCY: I’d say Level 1 is perfect but If you can speak a little to the kids it would be great, quite curious and love to ask questions or hold your hand and some insist on being held – forever! Pal Friendly for sure. If you want, you can contact me and see when I’m heading over and we can meet there together. Right now I’m looking at Mondays.

TIME:

Generally anytime should be fine as there’s always something to do but always try to call ahead just in case everyone is out on a special field trip of sorts. They always are very welcoming you to join in their lunch or dinners as helping hands are always needed to help feed some of the younger kids.

My preferred slot is after lunch time between 1-5pm on the weekends. I’m going to try to go on Mondays when Snow wants to start teaching kids some basic art classes, this could be 2-4 pm for younger kids (clays, etc) and when the older kids come back a different program starting around 4pm-ish. I will start a new thread when that opportunity is fixed.

Mondays through Fridays:

Ages 0-2 all day; Ages 3 and older in school until 4:30pm

Saturdays, Sundays:

All ages are generally there all day.

LOCATION:

Email me for the location.

CONTACT:

Email: harmonyhome2003@yahoo.com.tw

Or you can let me know.

MORE INFO:

You can learn more here, here to learn about the organization, and read a variety of touching stories here by volunteers and also more on some of the people they have helped over the years.

A short snipped of Dr. Deyamaโ€™s article on this urgent situation on ground. Their website has such a wealth of info I recommend you to visit it.


About handfulofsapphires

taiwan

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Long Term Opportunity at Women & Children Center – Harmony Home Association (Taipei Area)

  1. Hi,

    I’m a Singaporean chinese who is fluent in English and speak Mandarin rather well. I also understand some ๅฐ่ชž. I would love to do volunteer work especially with children. I do not mind paying for my extended stay or whatever application fee so please email me if you have any vacancies. Thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by Denise Foo | February 5, 2012, 3:32 am
    • Hi Denise, thanks for commenting! It’s great to see that you have such passion. Are you currently based in Taipei? There is no application fee involved in this. Please continue to contact me at email handfulofsapphires (at) gmail.com if you have any questions. I can certainly try to see what you are interested in and for your circumstance, how I can get you involved! Cheers and hope you’ve had a good weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

      Posted by handfulofsapphires | February 5, 2012, 7:16 pm
  2. Hello,

    I am in Taipei right now. I would love to help out with this. I am looking to volunteer long term. I am available. Monday, Tuesday and Saturdays. Morning and afternoon. Some evenings.

    Thank you so much

    Kindly
    Pattie

    Posted by Pattie | February 6, 2012, 9:53 am
    • Hi Pattie,
      You are welcome to head to the Center anytime before 9pm to help out. If you’d like, I will probably be heading over there tomorrow later in the afternoon if you want to meet up there. I reckon tomorrow I’ll be there around 5pm or 6pmish for 2 hours or so and then I have to do some pick ups for the clothing drive.

      Feel free to email me at handfulofsapphires (at) gmail.com

      Posted by handfulofsapphires | February 6, 2012, 5:07 pm
  3. I’m interested! however I will be available from october maybe, because sadly I’m overseas :(, I’ll make sure to check this website in a few months!

    Posted by Mar | March 16, 2012, 1:00 pm
  4. Hi,

    I would like to volunteer long-term with the Harmony Home Association–I moved to Taiwan 3 months ago to work and make a life here, and now that I’m settled in I’d like to make a difference in the community. I am free on Saturdays, and depending on the location–may be free on Sundays in the afternoon.

    I am available to start as soon as possible, and look forward to hearing from you soon.

    Thank you!

    Sincerely,

    Vicky Choa

    Posted by Vicky | April 16, 2012, 5:18 pm
  5. Hi there,

    I want to do volunteer work in your organization, but I live in Taichung…..I wonder does this institution have branch in Taichung?
    Many Thanks in advance ๐Ÿ™‚

    Posted by Fiona Zhang | April 21, 2012, 9:46 am
  6. Hello, I’m interested in helping out and I am located in Taipei. However I am only available on weekends. Can you please tell me more about programs or application process?

    Posted by Jenny Su (@jennysu123) | January 7, 2013, 11:17 pm
    • Hi Jenny,
      I will be heading over there tomorrow – if you want to stop by around 3:00pm let me know, it’s located near the WanFang Hospital Station on the Brown Line. Please shoot an email over to me at handfulofsapphires (at) gmail.com and we can see how to get you started there or elsewhere in volunteer work! Thanks so much for your message ๐Ÿ™‚

      Posted by handfulofsapphires | January 10, 2013, 5:10 pm

Leave a Reply

archives

